HOA – the saga continues

Posted: February 21, 2008 in General
Tags: , ,

Are you ready for the next installment? This gets good.

I’m all ears

So yesterday, if you remember, I posted a letter that I wrote to a local management company about the Texas Property Code’s language about days that the company had to deliver docs to the agent or owner. Well, I received an e-mail back late yesterday afternoon. It was less than cordial, if you could imagine.

In a nutshell it said that they are doing us the favors, they have 10 business days, or else it wouldn’t be posted that way (that almost made me laugh), and that she didn’t appreciate my not appreciating all of her hard work. Hm! I responded with a short reply that said, basically, the “favors” being done for us were breaking the law, that Pr…I mean, this management company was infamous for their unprofessionalism, and that I wanted an answer as to how they can change the law’s wording.

Today I got a letter from the President of the management company. Here’s what it said:

Thank you for your e-mail inquiry and for pointing out the Property Code regarding production of re-sale certificates. We interpret the 10 day time frame to mean 10 working days as our office is not open on Saturdays and Sundays. We cannot reasonably be expected to work on orders on days that we are not open for business. I do apologize if you have experienced any inconvenience with our re-sale certificate ordering system.

Yeah, are you thinking what I’m thinking?

You have to be kidding What in the world?

The President of the management company said this:

We interpret the 10 day time frame to mean 10 working days…

Let me ask you a question, if I got pulled over for doing 75 on Blanco Rd, and when the officer began writing me the ticket, were I to say, “Officer, listen, I interpret the law to mean that 55 could actually be 75 because, obviously, my car’s spedometer goes faster than 55,” how do you think the officer would respond?

I didn’t do it officer I don’t think that “I didn’t do it” will work at that point, do you?

Then the President says this:

We cannot reasonably be expected to work on orders on days that we are not open…

Seriously? They can’t “reasonably” be expected to do what the law says? Yeah, that one would work in the speeding scenario, huh? Does this person expect any reasonable person to accept this as an answer for why they violate property code?

But this one is my favorite:

I do apologize if you have experienced any inconvenience with our re-sale certificate ordering system.

Ok, President person, so what is the compensation you will offer the countless agents and homeowner’s you have inconvenienced, cost money, and frustrated in your career?

Guys, can you hear the pin drop?

I printed out the e-mail and took it to Hank (this Keller William’s “Risk Manager”). He had a few choice words about that e-mail and took it from me. He said that he is going to call some friends of his at the state level and look into the statute of frauds. Wouldn’t it be great if we could somehow regulate the tyranny of the management companies? They need to be legislated so that the racket that they have going is ended. I am going to pursue this and see what we can get done!

Any comments or thoughts would be appreciated. The original post that I was going to write about today will be done tomorrow. I had to let you all know about this.

Have a great day!

Dustin…

Leave a Reply

